Turn a Drawing into a 3D-Printed Figure to Paint

Photograph one drawing, turn it into a 3D model, and print a small figure you can paint. Mailed figures from one of the tools are not on sale yet.

Ages 6–9, 10–12Insta3D says about a minute for the on-screen model. Printing time is not a single number.Insta3D: first 3 drawings free, no card. A home print costs filament. Their mailed figures are not for sale yet.Art & 3DEnds in a real thing: A small print to paint, if you have a printer or a print serviceStretch

At a glance

Age6–9 and 10–12, you run the accounts. Insta3D says its prints are not for children under 3.
TimeAbout a minute for an Insta3D preview. Print time depends on the printer. Not stated as one number.
CostPreview can be free. Plastic and a mailed figure are extra. Mailed Insta3D figures were not on sale yet.
CategoryArt & 3D
You'll end withA small figure to paint, if you print

Pick one path. MakerWorld if you already print at home and can open a 3D file. Insta3D if you want a browser preview and maybe a file to print. Meshy if you would rather start from a sketch upload or a short description. Do not run all three and hope they match. The drawing is the source. A photo of a person is not.

Tools (and their age limits)

ToolWhat it’s for hereAccount age / who logs inFree?
MakerWorld MakerLabImage to STL and 3MF, in the parent-maker guideThe guide does not state an age. You upload.Not stated in that guide.
Insta3DBrowser preview, a printable file, and a future mailed figureThe site says it is for grown-ups and that children can help paint. Not for under 3. Small parts.First 3 drawings free, no card, on their page. Mailed figures: not on sale yet. Expected US prices were about $22 to $26 delivered, depending on height, and the exact price depends on the shape.
MeshySketch or text to a 3D modelThe education page does not state a child age. You hold the account.Free monthly credits. Education plan: first month of Pro free, then $5.99 a month, as that page stated.

The MakerBuildIt guide fixes a bad model in Nomad Sculpt or Blender. We did not re-check those apps’ prices or ages. If you don’t have them, generate again instead of buying a new tool.

Who does what

Kid does

  • Draws one character with bold colors and a clear outline
  • Says what must stay: the extra eye, the three legs, the hat
  • Looks at the spinning preview and says if it is still theirs
  • Paints, after an adult says the print is cool and the paints are allowed

Parent does

  • Photographs the paper, flat, in good light, drawing filling the frame
  • Uploads and reads the preview for extra parts
  • Prints small first, or waits if you have no printer
  • Keeps small parts away from children under 3

Materials

  • One drawing on paper. Insta3D says crayons, markers, or paint are fine, and a light pencil sketch is weaker.
  • A phone or a scanner. The maker guide prefers a scanner because it avoids shadows.
  • One of the tools above
  • A printer you already have, or patience. Do not buy a printer from this page.
  • Acrylic craft paint or acrylic paint pens, if you paint an Insta3D-style white figure. Their page says paint is not included.

Steps

  1. Kid Draw one character, not a whole scene. Insta3D says bold color, clear outlines, paper flat, no glare, drawing filling the photo.
  2. Parent Photograph or scan the paper. Crop out names and hands.
  3. Parent Upload to one tool. MakerWorld, in the guide, returns an STL and a 3MF in a few minutes. Insta3D says about 30 seconds for a character view and under a minute more for 3D. Meshy’s page says about a minute from a sketch or a prompt.
  4. Together Spin it. If it grew an extra ear, that happened to the cat in the maker guide. Print the funny one and talk about it, or try again. Fixing it in Nomad Sculpt or Blender is what that family did. Skip that if you don’t already use those apps.
  5. Parent Print small if you have a printer and a slicer you already trust. The maker guide used a Bambu Lab printer. Insta3D says a home printer can use a detailed STL. This page does not teach slicing from scratch.
  6. Parent If you wanted a figure in the mail, Insta3D’s page said ordering was not open yet. Do not pay a “coming soon” price from memory. Read the live page. Their expected prices were for US delivery and would be shown again before an order.
  7. Kid Paint when the plastic is cool and an adult is there. Insta3D says the white figure is about a coffee mug tall at the sizes they list, and it is not for under 3.

Copy-paste prompts

What you’ll end up with

A file you can spin, and a plastic figure only if you print or later order one. No print is not a failed project. The preview still shows the idea in the round.

Placeholder

No photo yet. A drawing next to a small unpainted print will go here. No faces.

Safety box

  • Age guidance: you run the accounts. 6–12 stay with you. Safety & Ages hub
  • Drawing, not a face. Do not upload a photo of your child. A Meshy testimonial mentions models of people from photos. That is not this project.
  • No name, school, or town on the page or in a text prompt.
  • Small parts and hot plastic. Insta3D says not for under 3. A printer nozzle is hot. Children do not stand at a running printer unless you already run one that way.
  • Paint: follow the paint’s own label. The Insta3D page names acrylics and says they are not included.
  • Prices change. The dollar and monthly figures above are what those two sites showed when we read them. Look again before you pay.

Age adaptations

AgeHow it worksTips
6–9They draw and paint. You upload and print.One character. Let them veto a preview that lost the bent tail.
10–12They can compare two previews while you hold the account.Ask what the model invented that the paper did not show, like the back of the character. Insta3D says it fills in the sides.

Variations & next projects

  • No printer: stop at the spinning model. That is a finished screen step, and an honest one.
  • Clay is a different project. The maker guide also scans a sculpture with a phone or a Creality scanner. We are not writing that path. It needs hardware we did not price.
  • Color on paper first with the coloring-page project if 3D is too much gear.

Source & inspiration

Photograph or scan a drawing, upload it, and get a 3D file comes from the MakerBuildIt guide. They used MakerWorld's MakerLabs tool, got an STL and a 3MF, found an extra ear on a cat, fixed it in Nomad Sculpt or Blender, and printed on a Bambu Lab printer. Insta3D's site says a drawing can become a spinning model in about a minute, the first three drawings are free with no card, and a mailed plain-white figure is not for sale yet. The page lists expected US delivered prices of about $22, $24, and $26 for 8 cm, 10 cm, and 12 cm, and says the exact price depends on the shape. Meshy's education page says a sketch or a text prompt can become a model, free monthly credits are included, and an education plan is a free first month of Pro and then $5.99 a month. Those prices are what the sites said when we read them, not a purchase we made. Tinkercad was on an early stub. It is not in the MakerBuildIt guide, so it is not a step here. A teacher quote on Meshy's page mentions 3D models of people from photos. This project does not. Use a drawing.

Inspired by:

Facts checked against:

More in this neighborhood